Cinema Eye Honors 2014

Wednesday, January 8, 2014, 8:00 p.m.

The Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking, now in its seventh year, attracts the world's top documentary filmmakers for an annual celebration at Museum of the Moving Image. Past presenters and recipients at Cinema Eye have included Chris Hegedus, Steve James, Barbara Kopple, Albert Maysles, Ross McElwee, Michael Moore, D.A. Pennebaker, and Frederick Wiseman. Top nominees this year include Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Act of Killing, Lana Wilson and Martha Shane’s After Tiller, Zachary Heinzerling’s Cutie and the Boxer, Véréna Pavel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor’sLeviathan, and Sarah Polley’s Stories We Tell. This year's Legacy Award will be presented to Barbara Kopple for her classic Academy Award-winning documentary Harlan County, U.S.A.

For more information, and for tickets, visit Tickets are available to the event, and a special pre-reception, for $75 ($40 for Museum members).